There is no featured news today.

View All News »




Aliquippa, PA – On a beautiful spring evening, Community College of Beaver County brought together faculty and staff, trustees, donors, and families to recognize and celebrate 120 students who this year have achieved success in the classroom, on campus, and in the community.

CCBC’s first annual Night of Excellence – A Celebration of Student Success took place on Wednesday, April 12 at 6:00 p.m. at The Club at Shadow Lakes in Aliquippa. More than 300 students, faculty, staff, family members, and community leaders attended to celebrate the accomplishments of students across a wide spectrum of academic programs and campus organizations.

“This event will be a lasting memory for our students and their loved ones as they were recognized for the fruits of scholarly activity, campus leadership, and community service,” said CCBC President Chris Reber. “Individually and collectively, the students honored at the Night of Excellence are shining examples of CCBC’s vision to lead, educate, innovate, and inspire. They embody the College’s mission to transform lives through personalized education, dynamic partnerships and high impact practices.”

Following a buffet dinner, the faculty and staff who instruct, mentor and interact with the student honorees on a daily basis, offered heartfelt remarks. Awards presented included the following group recognitions:

  • All-Pennsylvania Academic Team
  • Academic Excellence Scholarship Recipients
  • Presidential Scholarship Recipients
  • CCBC Foundation and Partner Scholarship Recipients
  • “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges” Honorees
  • National Junior College Athletic Association Region XX Men’s Basketball Team
  • Western Pennsylvania Collegiate Conference All-Academic Student Athletes
  • Western Pennsylvania Collegiate Conference All-Conference Team Members

In addition, employees and faculty members nominated and presented individual awards in the following categories:

  • Outstanding Student in Professional Piloting
  • Outstanding Student in Air Traffic Control
  • Outstanding Student in Phlebotomy
  • Outstanding Student in Practical Nursing
  • Outstanding Student in Nursing
  • Outstanding Student in Radiologic Technology
  • Outstanding Student in Business
  • Outstanding Student in Technologies
  • Outstanding Student in Social Sciences
  • Outstanding Student in Arts and Design
  • Outstanding Student in Sciences and Engineering
  • Outstanding Freshman
  • Outstanding Student Employee
  • Outstanding Peer Mentor
  • Male Student-Athlete of the Year
  • Female Student-Athlete of the Year

CCBC’s 120 student excellence honorees are Marisa Adams; Trevor Adams; Danielle Anderson, Aaron Barlow; Nick Barney; Miranda Bartlomain; Donna Baum; Paul Black; Emma Bodkin; Kassidy Boots; Kayla Brown; Rachel Burnsworth; Sydney Ceyba; Scott Chaffee; Natelie Chappell; Noah Charles, Matthew Christy; Zackary Cipolla; Beverly Clear; Aishah Coley; Eric Conley; Joziah Council; Zavyer Craft, Jordan Cuspard; Bradley Decroo; Jessica Detchon; Andrew Doby; Kevin Dougherty; Vanessa Douthitt; Louis Dubovi; Sabrina Dunifer; Garrett Duvall; Jody Eldridge; Shawn Engle; Natalie Fiedler; Brooke Firczak; Patricia Fish; Alexander Fragale; Katelyn French; Emma French; Morissa Gailey; Tiffany Gasperine; Terence Gettings; Joshua Grundberg; Mary Jane Habrle; Caleb Hart; Margaret Hartill; Jared Hartle; Izabella Hawkins; Caleb Heaton; Moira Hickey; Ronald Hiler; Sara Hohenshel; Michael Homza; Kelsey Hudacsek; Joann Hurst; LaChae Irish;

Kaitlin Johnstone; Damiyan Jones; Brooke Karlheim; Ashlynn Krestal; Mary Kusluch; Albany Kyle; Brittany Lackovich; Cory Landman; Shalisa Lawson-Anderson; Corey Layton; Brian Mahilo; Ashley Malinak; Robert Marshall; Everett Martin; Jesse Martin; Evan McAnulty; Michael McIntyre; Normita McKinney; Ashley McMullen; Shainna Metzgar; Lynna Micon; Alyssa Miles; Robert Miller; Lily Mineard; Halie Mitchell; Jamie Moore; Derek Needham; Crystal Newman; Jamie Nuske; Joy O'Leary; Steven Oravitz;

Victoria Palinski; Madison Patsey-Padgett; Michael Phillis; Kathryn Pierce; Eric Popovich; Leslie Powell; Stephanie Powers; Paige Prawucki; David Price; Eric Rangel; Linsey Romigh; Lauren Ranone; Joseph Rinald; Vanessa Roma; Michael Russell; Colette Schreiber; Bruce Searight; Cassandra Shankle; Jacqueline Shiel; Renae Smith; Phillip Stajduhar; Kelly Staschak; Alyssa Stevens; Jessica Straub; Shane Sutton; Brittany Taylor; Wendy Trischler; Christine Weekley; Mia Williams; Anthony Wilson; John Wilson; Aubrey Young; Haley Zink; and Justin Zygarowski.

Two student organizations, the Visual Arts Club and the Student Government Association, received special recognition for their community service and campus visibility and impact.

This special event is one of many new CCBC strategic initiatives aimed at developing connections and engagement and creating a collegiate atmosphere that inspires excellence and helps students to feel welcome and find success.

“Our students across the disciplines are developing and shaping ideas that will make a positive change on campus, throughout Beaver County, and in their chosen professions,” said Reber. “The entire CCBC community could not be more proud of what they have achieved and what they will accomplish.”

# # # # #

About CCBC

CCBC transforms lives through personalized education, dynamic partnerships, and high impact practices. The college has an annual enrollment of 6,800 credit and non-credit students. CCBC is an Achieving the Dream Leader College and offers 75 degree, certificate and diploma programs, hundreds of Continuing Education and Workforce Development programs, seamless transfer to a wide variety of baccalaureate and graduate institutions, and a nationally distinctive high school academy dual enrollment program. In 2017, the Aspen Institute named CCBC one of America’s Top 150 community colleges.

PHOTO CAPTION: Twelve Presidential Scholarship recipients were honored at CCBC’s first annual Night of Excellence in celebration of student success. The Presidential Scholarship is a full-tuition award presented each year to students who have graduated from a Beaver County high school in the top 10% of their class.

Pictured from left to right:

Row 1 - CCBC President Chris Reber, Stephanie Powers, Vanessa Roma, Cassandra Shankle, and CCBC Director of Enrollment Services Angela Hamilton

Row 2 – Brittany Lackovich, Sydney Ceyba, Phillip Stajduhar, Halie Mitchell, and Josh Grundberg

Row 3 – Sara Hohenshel, Alyssa Stevens, Kassidy Boots, and Zackary Cipolla