There is no featured news today.

View All News »




Hopewell Twp., PA – On Tuesday, April 3, Community College of Beaver County (CCBC) brought together faculty and staff, trustees, donors, and families to recognize and celebrate 110 students who have achieved success in the classroom, on campus, and in the community during the past year.

CCBC’s second annual Night of Excellence – A Celebration of Student Success took place at The Fez in Hopewell with more than 320 students, faculty, staff, family members, and community leaders in attendance to celebrate the accomplishments of students across a broad spectrum of academic programs, athletic teams, and scholarship recipients.

This unique event gives staff, friends and family members the opportunity to honor our students’ scholarly activity, campus leadership, and community service while at the same time acknowledging the motivation and persistence required to achieve success,” said Dr. Chris Reber, CCBC President, during his welcoming remarks.

Following a buffet dinner, the faculty and staff who instruct, mentor and interact with the student honorees on a daily basis, offered heartfelt remarks. Awards presented included the following group recognitions: 

  • 2017 WPA Collegiate Conference All-Academic Student-Athletes
  • 2017 WPA Collegiate Conference All-Conference Volleyball Team
  • 2017-18 WPA Collegiate Conference All-Conference Men’s Basketball Team
  • 2017 WPA Collegiate Conference All-Conference Cross Country Team
  • 2017 WPA Collegiate Conference All-Conference Softball Team
  • 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association All-Region XX Volleyball Team
  • 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association All-Region XX Men’s Basketball Team
  • 2017-18 National Junior College Athletic Association All-Region XX Volleyball All-Tournament Team
  • 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association All-American Cross Country
  • All-Pennsylvania Academic Team
  • CCBC Foundation and Partner Scholarship Recipients
  • CCBC Scholars

Also, employees and faculty members nominated and presented individual awards in the following categories: 

  • Outstanding Students in Professional Piloting
  • Outstanding Student in Phlebotomy
  • Outstanding Student in Practical Nursing
  • Outstanding Students in Nursing
  • Outstanding Student in Radiologic Technology
  • Outstanding Student in Business
  • Outstanding Student in Technologies
  • Outstanding Student in Social Sciences
  • Outstanding Student in Arts and Design
  • Outstanding Student in Sciences and Engineering
  • Outstanding Student in Apprenticeship Readiness
  • Outstanding Student in EMT
  • Outstanding Freshman
  • Outstanding Student Employees
  • Male Student-Athlete of the Year
  • Female Student-Athlete of the Year

 CCBC’s 110 student excellence honorees are:

  • Trevor Adams
  • David Agnello
  • Shalissa Anderson
  • Mercedes Arnold-Fox
  • Marissa Bagby
  • Miranda Bartlomain
  • Emma Bodkin
  • Kassidy Boots
  • Jamie Boyd
  • Jelani Browder
  • Erica Brozich
  • Rachel Burnsworth
  • Donald Butler
  • Patricia Butler
  • Scott Chaffee
  • Natelie Chappell
  • Matthew Chase
  • Collin Chemini
  • Alison Chichy
  • Zackary Cipolla
  • James Clark
  • Beverly Clear
  • Dyara Cockfield-Williams
  • Jasmine Collier
  • Jennifer Conley
  • Christian Covert
  • Matthew Cubellis
  • Darian Cunningham
  • Anthony DeRose
  • Marquis DuBose
  • Louis Dubovi
  • Chase Durham
  • Carrie Dvorsak
  • Marina Fink
  • Brooke Firczak
  • Jessica Freeman
  • Emma French
  • Simeon Fryer
  • Sean Fuchel
  • Deva Furis
  • Morissa Gailey
  • Brodie Gillespie
  • Matthew Goodemote
  • Natassja Habedank
  • Mary Halley-Meyers
  • Dominique Hamilton
  • Cortney Harden
  • Caleb Hart
  • Neil Hassen
  • Cooper Hertzle
  • Ronald Hiler
  • Sara Hohenshel
  • Darby Hupp
  • Ethan Intrieri
  • Nathan Izotic
  • Da'miyah Jones
  • Julie Jones
  • Jessica Kalinoski
  • Breanna Karns
  • Karlie Kerr
  • Jessica Kinter
  • Sari Knouse
  • Jeremy Kornblum
  • Brittany Lackovich
  • Vanessa LaValle
  • Seth Lintz
  • Madison Lutz
  • Dawn Marshall
  • Madison McGurgan
  • Candice McMunn
  • Lynna Micon
  • Jason Middleby
  • Alyssa Miles
  • Halie Mitchell
  • Jacob Moldovan
  • Rhiannon Mravich
  • Alex Murray-Hoffman
  • Joie Palmer
  • Shaelyn Pierce
  • Jessica Podnar
  • William Porada
  • Stephanie Powers
  • Lauren Ranone
  • Deontae Robertson
  • Linsey Romigh
  • Daysha Ross
  • Michael Russell
  • Scott Sanders
  • Alexis Scelp
  • Elizabeth Scherer
  • Colette Schreiber
  • Courtney Shallcross
  • Jordan Sonnabend
  • Amber Spencer
  • Wendel Stafford
  • Alyssa Stevens
  • Jared Stonefield
  • Eric Taylor
  • Logan Temple
  • Zachary Todd
  • Amanda Tooch
  • Carrie Jo Tracy
  • Amanda Turnbull
  • Chelsie Vukich
  • Jeremy Walpole
  • Mia Williams
  • Serena Wingard
  • Cody Yanyecic
  • Petra Zibaila
  • Haley Zink

This special event is one of many new CCBC strategic initiatives aimed at developing connections and engagement and creating a collegiate atmosphere that inspires excellence and helps students feel welcome and find success.

“Our students across the disciplines are developing and sharing ideas that will make a positive change on campus, throughout Beaver County, and in their chosen professions,” said Reber. “The entire CCBC community could not be more proud of what they have achieved and what they will accomplish.”

# # # #

About Community College of Beaver County

CCBC transforms lives through personalized education, dynamic partnerships, and high impact practices. CCBC is an Achieving the Dream Leader College and offers 75 degree, certificate and diploma programs, hundreds of Continuing Education and Workforce Development programs, seamless transfer to a wide variety of baccalaureate and graduate institutions, and a nationally distinctive high school academy dual enrollment program. The Aspen Institute named CCBC one of America’s Top 150 community colleges in 2017.


The CCBC Scholars gather with College President Chris Reber, Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Jan Kaminski, and Director of Enrollment Services Angela Hamilton at the second annual Night of Excellence in celebration of student success. CCBC Scholars are full-tuition scholarship recipients representing students graduating from the top 10% of every school district in Beaver County. Throughout the year, they volunteer during events on campus, interact with the student body and College leadership, and represent CCBC in the community.